There has been a church at Walsham-le-Willows since the Domesday book, but the currently church was largely built in the 15th century.
The exterior of the church is decorated in flint flushwork, particularly the diamond checkered effect over the whole of the south porch.
Inside is a fantastic carved hammerbeam roof, unfortunately the angels on the hammerbeams were removed in 1538.
Hanging in the nave is a small wooden plaque unique in Suffolk. It is a simple memorial to Mary Boyce who died aged 20 in 1685. The carved hearts imply that she died after an unhappy love affair.
In the chancel, the east window holds collected fragments of medieval glass. There is also a beautiful floral stained glass window by Rosemary Rutherford.
The church are active in the local community and very involved with the local school and the bell ringing group practices every week.
St Mary's is home to Pipistrelle and Natterer's bats. The bats usually enter the church through a gap over the south door, and can often be found resting the crack between the door and the wall.
The project has linked the church with Suffolk Bat Group and they will be working together to run bat walks and events.
We will also be providing cleaning help and advice, and offering a Bats in Churches Education visit to the local school.